MCAD Announces New President

The Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD) has named Sanjit Sethi as its next president. Sethi, an artist and academic who most recently directed the Corcoran School of the Arts and Design at George Washington University (GWU), officially took office on July 15. He succeeds Jay Coogan, who served as president of MCAD for nine years until September 2018, and Karen Wirth, interim president this past year.


Additional Information



This section provides details regarding the search for the next permanent president of the Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD), including the Presidential Profile, the Presidential Search Committee, the search process, and the college in general.

Working alongside one of the country's premier executive search firms, Isaacson, Miller, a Presidential Search Committee comprising MCAD trustees, faculty, staff, and students will advise the MCAD Board of Trustees on the selection of the college’s next president. The committee is actively engaged in seeking input to identify the best candidates to lead the college and welcomes your comments and nominations through on-campus listening sessions, an online survey, and email.

Presidential Search Committee

Led by consultants Sheryl Ash, Ben Tobin, and Carrie Alexander of the national executive search firm of Isaacson, Miller, the search committee includes:


  • Mitzi Magid
  • Susan Calmenson, Vice Chair, Search Committee
  • Uri Camarena
  • Greg Heinemann, Board Chair
  • David Hartwell, Life Trustee
  • David Moore, Jr., Chair, Search Committee and Vice Chair, Board of Trustees


  • Ed Charbonneau ’06, Adjunct Professor, Fine Arts
  • Katherine Turczan, Professor, Media Arts


  • Laura Link, Director, Financial Aid Office


  • Candice Davis ’18, Web and Multimedia Environments Major


  • Lindsay Nohl ’03, Adjunct Faculty, Design


Press Releases

Pages in this section will be updated regularly to keep the community informed of the committee's progress.